Memorial Day

I’m not an American citizen and, even though there hasn’t been a war since World War II in my country, I know what war means. Although I’ve never be a soldier, I often ask myself how much a soldier should care about his or her country to devote and risk his or her life for the military and the nation.

unidentified_photographer_2011_14_8

Unidentified Photographer, [S. Gentile, Troop G, 11th U.S. Cavalry, Imperial Beach, California]1910-20 (2011.14.8)

As always happen when a war is finished, it is difficult to look back and remember. Remembering is an essential action for a person, and for a country too. Sometimes it can be painful but it allows us to elaborate our national story and not to repeat the same mistakes.

cowin_1083_1990

Unidentified Photographer, [U.S. Marine]ca. 1920 (1083.1990)

Furthermore remembering our soldiers in an act of respect for those who battled for and defended us.

cowin_711_1990Unidentified Photographer, [Soldier], ca. 1940s (711.1990)

While wars can be traumatic for many soldiers, please don’t hide; on Memorial Day, please think about the soldiers and try to be helpful.

meatyard_ralph_eugene_30_2005

Ralph Eugene Meatyard, Untitled, 1959 (30.2005)

Remembrance is a gentle act that can help soldiers distance themselves from their own difficult memories.

About Francesca Teodori

I live in New York, but I studied Contemporary Art in Italy and I specialized in Photo Archiving and Cataloguing in Milan. I love photography. I contributed writing and publishing photos, to art magazines and daily newspapers. Working in art galleries in New York is challenging as making my own projects.
This entry was posted in Fans in a Flashbulb and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

