Magritte with Hat

Duane Michals, Magritte with Hat, 1965 (2012.39.1)

“Among my pantheon of myths, Rene Magritte casts the furthest shadow of illumination,” says Duane Michals about meeting the Belgian artist in 1965. “I was 33 and he was 65 when I visited him in Brussels. He was a contradiction, a surrealist who lived like a banker with the kaleidoscopic mind of an alchemist. He was very kind to me, giving me carte blanche to his treasures. I walked all the way back to New York from Belgium. My visit still lingers with the eyes of my portfolio.”

About claartjevandijk

Assistant Curator, Collections at the International Center of Photography, New York
This entry was posted in Fans in a Flashbulb and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

