O harp and altar, of the fury fused

Unidentified Photographer, [Cartoon of Unidentified Man Jumping Off the Brooklyn Bridge], ca. 1883

Rudy Burckhardt, Brooklyn Bridge, 1954

Brett Weston, Fulton Street and Brooklyn Bridge, New York, ca. 1945

In just a few weeks I will  mark my tenth year in New York City.  Though it was the flashier Manhattan that drew me here, save a month in the Bronx and Queens respectively, Brooklyn is the borough I’ve always called home.  So to commemorate my little anniversary I thought I’d pull together some images of Brooklyn’s most notable monument.

In Truman Capote’s A House on the Heights he begins  “I live in Brooklyn. By choice.”  I couldn’t agree more.

The Bridge: To Brooklyn Bridge by Hart Crane

O harp and altar, of the fury fused,

(How could mere toil align thy choiring strings!

Terrific threshold of the prophet’s pledge,

Prayer of pariah, and the lover’s cry,

Again the traffic lights that skim thy swift

Unfractioned idiom, immaculate sigh of stars,

Beading thy path—condense eternity:

And we have seen night lifted in thine arms.

Under thy shadow by the piers I waited

Only in darkness is thy shadow clear.

The City’s fiery parcel all undone,

Already snow submerges an iron year …

Sleepless as the river under thee,

Vaulting the sea, the riles’ dreaming sod,

Unto us lowliest sometime sweep, descend

And of the curveship lend a myth to God.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

