The House I Once Called Home

The House I Once Called Home is a beautifully sad book written and illustrated by the American photographer Duane Michals. Inspired by his return to his childhood home shortly following his mother’s death, each page contains haunting photographs and poetic captions pertaining to the past and present of his family, himself, and the physicality of his home. Michals uses double exposure techniques to combine both old and new photographs, portraying the changes that have occurred since his house was inhabited, and eerily highlighting the current absence of his family.

michals_duane_431_2003_1

Duane Michals, The House I Once Called Home, 2003 (431.2003)

michals_duane_431_2003_5

Duane Michals, The House I Once Called Home, 2003 (431.2003.5)

michals_duane_431_2003_6

Duane Michals, The House I Once Called Home, 2003 (431.2003.6)

michals_duane_431_2003_7

Duane Michals, The House I Once Called Home, 2003 (431.2003.7)

michals_duane_431_2003_29

Duane Michals, The House I Once Called Home, 2003 (431.2003.29)

About kaitlinvaughan

Currently a graduate student at Columbia University, studying Photography Theory, Museum Studies, and Anthropology; I'm slowly learning how to live in and love New York City...
This entry was posted in Fans in a Flashbulb and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The House I Once Called Home

  1. crea2010 says:

    Thanks for posting. I’m a fan of the work of Duane Michals and this post helped me with my research for my next project.

Leave a Reply

