Screen Sirens of the 1950s

Chim (David Seymour), Sophia Loren in her home. Naples, Italy, 1955

Cornell Capa, [Marilyn Monroe during the filming of The Misfits, Nevada], 1960

Leonard McCombe, [Eyes right is executed with almost military precision by dining car males aboard New York bound 20th Century Limited as Kim Novak eases into a seat], 1956


Weegee, [Eva Gabor], ca. 1956

About erinbarnett

Assistant Curator, Collections at the International Center of Photography, New York
This entry was posted in Fans in a Flashbulb and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Screen Sirens of the 1950s

  1. Sophia Loren is 16 years older than me. I don’t care, I don’t care!

    Please, please take me back to 1955 on the day that this picture was taken, when I was five, or maybe four and let me walk into this room and let her say, “oh, what an adorable child!” Then she could scoop me up and hold me on her lap and I would cry and she would pull me close so that my head lay against her bosum and she would pat me on the back and say, “there, there, child! Everything is going to be okay. It will all be wonderful.”

    And yes, at that moment, it would be wonderful, and I would be in heaven, but being five, I would not fully understand, but still, I would appreciate it and today, when I am 60, I would think back to that moment with warmth and fondness.

    But alas, it never happened, until right now, when I looked at this picture and then it happened only in my mind, which is better than if it had not happened even there.

    At least, I now have the fantasy to look back on with warmth and fondness.

  2. deirdread says:

    1955 was an incredible year for Sophia Loren. I once read a claim of how many magazine covers she was on that year and thought it hyperbolic. In fact, I have now seen an incalculable number of magazines – worldwide – with her image on the cover dated 1955 and am beginning to believe the statement. This is in addition to the photo romances she posed for previously that were still coming out and the postcards!

Leave a Reply

